Past Winners

The 2010 Winner is:
Craig Gentry. Fully Homomorphic Encryption using Ideal Lattices. ACM Symposium Symposium on Theory of Computing (STOC) 2009.

The 2010 runners-up were:

The 2009 Winners are:

The 2009 runners-up were:

The 2008 Winner is:
Arvind Narayanan and Vitaly Shmatikov. Robust De-anonymization of Large Sparse Datasets. Proceedings of the 2008 IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy (S&P 2008). [PDF]

The 2008 runners-up were:

The 2007 Winner is:
Stephen C. Bono, Matthew Green, Adam Stubblefield, Ari Juels, Aviel D. Rubin and Michael Szydlo. Security Analysis of a Cryptographically-Enabled RFID Device. Proceedings of the 14th USENIX Security Symposium. [PDF]

The 2007 runners-up were:

The 2006 Winner is:
Daniel J. Solove. A taxonomy of privacy. University of Pennsylvania Law Review, Vol. 154, No. 3, p. 477, January 2006. [PDF]

The other 2006 nominees were:

The 2005 Winner is:
Alessandro Acquisti for "Privacy in Electronic Commerce and the Economics of Immediate Gratification," in Proceedings of the ACM Electronic Commerce Conference (EC 04). New York, NY: ACM Press, 21-29, 2004. [PDF]

The other 2005 nominees were:

The 2004 Winners are:
Michael Backes, Birgit Pfitzmann, and Matthias Schunter for "A Toolkit for Managing Enterprise Privacy Policies", in ESORICS 2003.  [PDF]

Matthias Bauer for "New Covert Channels in HTTP: Adding Unwitting Web Browsers to Anonymity Sets", in Proceedings of the Workshop on Privacy in the Electronic Society 2003.  [PS]

The other 2004 nominees were:

The 2003 Winners are Andrei Serjantov and George Danezis for "Towards an Information Theoretic Metric for Anonymity", from the 2002 Workshop on Privacy Enhancing Technologies. 

The other 2003 nominees were: